Close this search box.

Awarding Bodies

Home » Awarding Bodies

Comparing Irish NFQ Qualification Levels and UK Equivalents

Some courses lead to international qualifications from UK awarding bodies like ITEC, Edexcel and City and Guilds. These qualifications use UK levels, which are different to Irish NFQ levels, but the grid gives you a convenient way to compare.

You can see that even though the levels appear different, they are easily comparable. We offer UK awards especially where there is international recognition in the industry and occupational sector.

Awarding Bodies

Your course leads to a certified qualification that is of recognised quality and international standing, and will represent your achievement and your efforts at the institute. QQI (Quality and Qualifications Ireland) is our primary awarding body at Carlow Institute, and our Level 5 and Level 6 courses lead to their internationally recognised qualifications. QQI awards will support your choice of progression to work and to further study.

We also offer qualifications from other leading awarding bodies. These awards can become your passport to a successful career, and the awarding bodies include:


Details of the underpinning awards are shown on each course information page, and further information is available from course co-ordinators.

Scroll to Top